Skip to: main navigation | main content | sitemap | accessibility page


#SBS Event 2019

13th February 2019

#SBS Event 2019

Helen and Sam made their way up to the ICC in Birmingham for the #SBS winner’s event 2019.

The event, organised by Theo Paphitis, was a gathering for small businesses that have won the Twitter competition.

It featured talks from Webroot, Google and special guest Sir Tom Hunter. First time guests also got the chance to have their photo taken with Theo himself.

After an early start, Helen and Sam headed up to Birmingham in luxury, thanks to Somerset Executive Travel, in the company of Dan, Trish from Genius PR & Events and Carola of Life Is Good Nutrition.

The morning was spent playing games, listening to a talk on cyber security from Webroot and a session from Raji Saggi from Google about how the search engine can benefit SMEs.

Following a filling lunch (and a glass of wine or two…), it was time for the Somerset businesses at the event to meet up for a group photo (see below)!

#SBS Somerset winners

The main event featured Theo in conversation with Sir Tom Hunter, Scotlands first self-made billionare. Sir Tom built up the empire Sports Division, sold to JJB Sports for £260m, having began selling trainers on a market stall. He has also been involved in Philanthropy and is still a hugely successful businessman. They discussed the story of his journey and handed out tips to the aspiring entrepreneurs in the audience.

After that, it was time to pick up the winners certificate and grab a photo with Theo before making the journey home!

#SBS is a weekly Twitter competition run by Theo Paphitis. Each Sunday, six small businesses are chosen as that week’s winners, helping raise their online profile and entering them into the #SBS winner’s community. Red Berry Recruitment was chosen as a winner on our first time of entering, back in March.





July 2020
« Mar  


2020 (9)

2019 (35)

2018 (45)

2017 (83)

2016 (66)

2015 (82)

2014 (77)

2013 (73)

2012 (38)

2011 (25)

2010 (14)

2009 (12)

2008 (14)

2007 (10)